bagheeraface

Music Review: “How to Destroy Angels” by HDA

In Music Reviews on September 25, 2010 at 3:32 pm

This will be a quick review of “How to Destroy Angels” self-titled album which was released on July 6th. For those not in the know “self-titled album” means their album is named after the band. So, in this case, How to Destroy Angels. Maybe that explanation seems unnecessary, but I know I was in my teens before I figured that one out. Anways, on to the review:

HDA is not something I can listen to all the time. I actually began this post almost a month ago, and it’s taken me this long to get back to it. However, it is still a cool album. The album feels like a composite of both Industrial and Phillip Glass’ Koyaanisqatsi as sung by a woman. For your ear’s, take a listen to these sounds for comparison: Michael Aranda’s Erosion and Phillip Glass’ classic Koyaanisqatsi. Toward the end of the album, however, HDA starts to sound like Metric or Silversun Pickups. Which, might I add, is really cool because I lurve luv love those guys.

In my opinion, the best songs on the album (which has only six songs and runs a total of 28:50 in length) are “BBB (Big Black Boots)” and “A Drowning.” But, to be fair, the last 4 songs are all top-notch killers and worth listening to.

According to my iTunes, the album is listed as “Electronica/Dance” which is sorta true. But if I had to label it, it would be “Industrial Punk”. So, if you enjoy half of the bands and video’s I recommended then THIS BAND may be for you.

Happy listening.

Leave a Reply

