bagheeraface

What are you worth to yourself?

In Health, Quotes on October 26, 2010 at 11:52 pm

Today is the last day of Theodore Roosevelt Week. Tomorrow is his birthday (October 27th). As such, let us remember the great man with the following quote which, I feel, best exemplifies what it means to not only be an America, but, in fact, a citizen of the world, so to speak. The world that, thus far, only exists in the realm of ideas:

I am an American; free born and free bred, where I acknowledge no man as my superior, except for his own worth, or as my inferior, except for his own demerit.

Let me alter that line for our more progressive 21st Century: “Where I acknowledge no person as my superior, except for their own worth, or as my inferior, except for their own demerit.”

I leave you to your own thought. To take out of that quote what you will.

But, what do I take out of it? I take out of it these question: What are you worth to yourself? How do you define yourself within the sphere of community?

I would be interested in hearing just how you (as in the reader) literally define yourself. What criteria do you use to judge you and those around you?

Leave a Reply

